An MD–MS program is a Dual Degree Post Graduate Program awarding both a Doctor of Medicine (MD) and a Master of Science (MS) degree. Post-graduate diploma holders and Diplomate of National Board (India) candidates can upgrade to an MD-MS degree through opportunities such as post-graduate–up-gradation programs.


  • MD/MS Overview
  • MCI Recognised Seats in MD / MS
  • How to Apply for MD MS in India:
  • About (National Board of Examinations )
  • Eligibility for NEET-PG Exam:

MD/MS Overview

MD/MS in India is one of the most prominent career options for the student’s looking to pursue, Post-graduation Medical course In INDIA. MD stands for Doctor of Medicine and it involves 3-year Clinical training in the field of Medicine while doing MD students get specialty training to treat patients/diseases through non-surgical procedures i.e. with Medicines only.

MS stands for master of surgery and it involves 3-year clinical training in the field of Surgery while doing MS students gets specialty training to treat the patients/diseases through various Surgical procedure.


To get admission to MD/MS in INDIA an aspirant has to qualify the NEET-PG entrance test conducted by NBE every year. To apply for NEET-PG the aspirants must have permanent or Provisional registration with MCI and have completed his/her MBBS degree from MCI recognizes medical college/institute with a 1-year compulsory internship. After successfully qualifying the NEET-PG entrance test the students have to go through the Central level and state level NEET-PG counseling.

NEET-PG counseling is conducted by MCC ( Medical Counseling Committee) on behalf of DGHS (Director General Health Secretary). The MCC conducts counseling for the All India quota.

  • With 50% of seats in all government colleges.
  • With 100% of seats in central universities like AMU and BHU,
  • With 100% of seats in AFMC, DU (Delhi universities) and ESIC hospitals,
  • With 100% of seats in private Deemed universities.
State Level Counseling:

The state-level NEET-PG counseling is conducted by DME (Director Medical Education) of respective states for 50% State quota seats in government colleges of the state and 100% seats of private medical colleges within the state.

MCI Recognised Seats in MD / MS

 MD- Anesthesiology

MD- Dermatology
MD- Radiology / Radiodiagnosis
MD- General Medicine
MD- Paediatrics


MS- Orthopedics
MS- General Surgery
MS- Obstetrics & Gynaecology

How to Apply for MD MS in India:

Candidates who have a valid MBBS or equivalent degree from India or other countries, which is recognized by MCI (Medical Council of India) can apply for the MD/MS course.

Candidates must have cleared the Common Entrance Test NEET -PG (National Eligibility cum Entrance Test) for Medical Postgraduate Courses (MD/MS/PG -Diploma). NEET-PG exam is conducted by NBE in online mode throughout India.

About NBE ( National Board of Examinations ) :

NBE was established in 1975 by Govt. of India in order to provide quality education in Modern Medical Science. NBE’s main objective is to conduct Postgraduate medical examinations on an all India basis. It is a completely online mode for the exams through the NBE. NBE is under the ministry of health and family welfare in India. According to the recent changes in medical entrance exams, NBE is conducting one single entrance exam for admissions to MD/MS/DNB courses all over the country.

Eligibility for NEET-PG Exam:


  • Candidates pursuing MBBS Degree or have completed the MBBS from Institutions recognized by Indian Medical Council (MCI) are eligible.
  • The candidate has passed MBBS with a minimum of 50% for general category and 45% for SC, ST, and OBC category.
  • The candidates must have completed one year of internships on or before 31st March of the commencement of the academic year.

For Candidate with Foreign nationalities :

  • Candidates from outside India can also eligible for the NEET-PG exam, it is not mandatory for them to have temporary registration with MCI, they can write the NEET-PG exam without MCI registration, however, they can apply for temporary registration with MCI.
  • Candidates appearing for the exam must have registered with appropriate registering authority in his / her own country, and his/her medical qualification should be recognized by the competent authority for the concerned country.


  • MD – Anesthesiology
  • MD – Aviation Medicine/Aerospace Medicine
  • MD – Bacteriology
  • MD – Bio-Chemistry
  • MD – Bio-Phy
  • MD – Community Health Administration
  • MD – Dermatology, Venereology & Leprosy
  • MD – Emergency Medicine
  • MD – Family Medicine
  • MD – Forensic Medicine/Forensic Medicine & Toxicology
  • MD – General Medicine
  • MD – Geriatrics
  • MD – Hospital Administration
  • MD – Immune Hematology & Blood Transfusion
  • MD – Lab Medicine
  • MD – Maternity & Child Health
  • MD – Microbiology
  • MD/MS – Anatomy
  • MD/MS – Obstetrics & Gynecology
  • MD/MS – Ophthalmology
  • MD – Nuclear Medicine
  • MD – Pediatrics
  • MD – Palliative Medicine
  • MD – Pathology
  • MD – Pathology & Microbiology
  • MD – Pharmacology
  • MD – Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
  • MD – Physiology
  • MD – Psychiatry
  • MD – Radio Diagnosis/Radiology
  • MD – Radiotherapy/ Radiation Oncology
  • MD – Social & Preventive Medicine / Community Medici
  • MD – Sports Medicine
  • MD – Transfusion Medicin
  • MD – Tropical Medicine
  • MD – Tuberculosis & Respiratory Diseases / Pulmonary Medicine
  • MD – Venereology
  • MS – ENT
  • MS – General Surgery
  • MS – Orthopedics